The Liverpool Supper Club

Having spent a lot of my  time in London reading food blogs, I’m very familiar with the concept of the supper club – in which someone hosts a meal in their own home (or another informal venue) for a small-ish group of guests, in
exchange for a suggested donation. Appealing as this idea is, it often seems to come with a bit of intimidating foodie-ishness and requiring superhuman organisational skills to book places for one on a suitable date. So while I may have had not one but two dreams about going to the legendary MsMarmitelover’s now (srsly), I never actually got around to going to one in waking life. Before I moved to Liverpool I became aware (via Twitter) that a group of friends (Tom, Jo and Lucy) had decided to organise one here, so it was high on my to do list, especially when I saw the very stylish menu (designed by Jo, also an illustrator) for their second outing, with appealing Greek-themed dishes.

So on a wet and windy Thursday evening last week, I arrived on my own and a little nervous and  windswept, but within minutes I was brought into the very cool apartment where Tom and Jo live, handed a glass of prosecco with Morello cherries and introduced to some interesting people – my shyness didn’t last
long. Once seated at an attractive, cheery table, we were brought ‘Pikilia’ sharing platters, an impressive range of mezze-style dishes showcasing lots of flavours, textures and skill. The fritters were perfectly fried, the butternut and tahini dip a combination I hadn’t thought of but was creamy and comforting, with plenty of  sesame depth, and the olives were amazing. The mains of lamb (or for me,
vegetable and haloumi) kebabs had been cooked over a wood-fire and the split-pea puree and orzo pasta were good accompaniments. I think the star of the show though was the poached pears with rose & honey, served with filo, pistachio praline and home made ice-cream. It exemplified perfectly the thoughtful, balanced approach to each course – there was lots going on, but never over the top. I heard lots of happy sighs around the table!

All this was finished off with coffee and home made petit fours – mini chocolate brownies (one of the best I’ve tasted) and crumbly, lemony amaretti.

Guests brought their own wines but there was a friendly sharing vibe, particularly as Jon from Scatchards wine had made some suggested pairings and this was a great way of tasting some new and things for a wine ignoramus like me, especially a dry, almost savory sherry – Lustau Manzanilla Amontillada and a the lovely floral  Moscat d’Asti with dessert. Special points to Liverpool Supper Club for being very vegetarian-friendly, as well as lovely friendly people. I could see they were accommodating about allergies too, which gives me hopes for bringing Dr E along to one of their dinners in future. I was enjoying my food too much to remember to take pictures until dessert, but there are some here and another good write-up on Sid’s restaurant blog here. Hope the next one comes round soon!

Leave a Reply

